Coordination and Board

Members of the Board 2021-2023

  • Gabriele Manella (Coordinator), Department of Sociology and Business Law, University of Bologna, Italy
  • Katarzyna Kajdanek (Vice-Coordinator), University of Wroclaw, Poland
  • Anna Bednarczyk (Member of the Board), Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland
  • Madalena Corte-Real (Member of the Board) , ISEC Lisboa / Nova University Lisbon, Portugal
  • Niccolò Morelli (Member of the Board), Università di Genova, Italy
  • Rui Carvalho (Member of the Board, Phd Student Representative), Department of Sociology, Brown University, USA

Members of the Board 2019-2021

Statutes for Coordinator and Board Elections RN37 Urban Sociology

  1. The RN elections are conducted every 2 years. They take place a few days before and during the ESA Conference, and close 24 hours before the RN Business Meeting. As with ESA elections, RN elections are conducted electronically.
  2. Candidates and other RN members will be notified of the election results during the RN’s Business Meeting held at the ESA Conference, and broadly via email and/or on social media up to a week after this Business Meeting.
  3. The Electoral Committee is ideally composed by all the members of the previous Board who will not be candidates in the current electoral procedures, with a minimum of two members per electoral process.
  4. The RN elects its own Coordinator and Board. The Board should be composed by a total of five members, of which one will be selected by the Coordinator to act as the Vice-Coordinator.
  5. One of the members of the Board must be elected separately as for the role of Student Representative. Although elected through an individual vote, the Student Representative is an effective member of the Board.
  6. The Coordinator, the Vice-Coordinator, the Student Representative, and the remaining three members of the Board can serve for a maximum period of two consecutive terms of two years in their respective positions.
  7. All the members of the current Board who are not elected for the incoming Board will serve as part of the RN advisory board for the next two years. This serves to ensure continuity of procedures between electoral procedures.
  8. All eligible members of the RN may vote for one candidate for Coordinator, one candidate for Student Representative, and three additional candidates for the Board.
  9. If the votes for any of the previous roles are tied there will be a new vote held in person at the RN Business Meeting to decide between the two candidates for the given position(s).
  10. All elections are ideally contested by at least two candidates per open position, i.e. there should be two candidates for Coordinator, two candidates for Student Representative, and eight candidates for the Board.
  11. All the candidates must be active ESA members and active members of the RN at the time of the electoral procedures Similarly, only active ESA and RN37 members may cast ballots and participate in any electoral procedures.
  12. The Student Representative must be an active student at the time of candidacy, ideally at the graduate (PhD) level. Although students are encouraged for this position, they may also apply directly to act as Board members.
  13. No candidate may run for Coordinator of two RN simultaneously. Board members are allowed to serve at both the ESA level and the RN level, or in more than one RN, simultaneously, whenever permitted by broader ESA statutes.
  14. Candidates may be included on the ballots by expressing their candidacy (self-nominations) or following acceptance of their nomination by an active member of ESA and the RN.
  1. The nomination procedures are initiated by the current ESA board by circulating a list of all eligible candidates for the election among all active members, asking them to post their nominations.
  2. All active members of both ESA and the RN are allowed to nominate as much as one candidate for Coordinator, one candidate for Student Representative, and two candidates for the Board per electoral cycle through this procedure.
  3. Active members of the RN are encouraged to nominate candidates who reflect the diversity of the RN in areas such as demographic characteristics, professional status, institutional type, and country of origin/settlement.
  4. All the candidates included in the ballots are invited to include a brief biographical entry as part of their candidacy. This biographical note will be listed as part of their ballot.
  5. The candidates’ biographical notes must include their: name, affiliation, professional title; a list of relevant positions held within ESA and in other offices (up to five); a list of relevant publications (up to five), and a personal statement.
  6. This personal statement must briefly explain (under 100 words) why the candidate is seeking this position, what their plans and projects for their residency are, and why they feel qualified to be elected.

Suggested timeline for the electoral procedures

Current year (2021) used as reference

  1. June 1-30: Call and vote for nominations and self-nominations opens (lasting about a month).
  2. July 1-15: Nominated candidates accept or decline their nominations and submit their biographical notes.
  3. July 16 – August 15: Current board prepares ballots and electronic voting procedures.
  4. Week before ESA Conference: Elections start and remain open until 24 hours before the RN Business Meeting.
  5. ESA Conference, RN Business Meeting: Second vote, in-person (if needed in case of ties);
  6. Results are conveyed to the members present (if the conference will be in a hybrid format, adequate tools to attend will be provided); results shared via email and social media with remaining RN members and beyond.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.